RSS

Is your candidate ‘electable’ or the ‘right’ candidate?

15 Aug

Michele Bachmann or Ron Paul

I admit, a few months ago I heckled my co-host Bryan Hyde about whether Ron Paul was even “electable” and therefore should we waste our time on the matter? If his own party won’t elect him, shouldn’t we be focusing on someone who can win and help us get Obama out of office?

I used to think that way. Then I did something slightly intelligent and I began to study each candidate myself.

Before studying the candidates, I knew what was important to me:

Smaller government
Less entitlement programs
Anti-abortion laws
Bring our troops home and not force other countries to uphold our policies
Quit spreading the American power so thin that it leaves our Country vulnerable
Less regulation on small businesses
Less taxes (let those of us who earned it take care of our families with it.
Cut spending, including welfare and warfare
Give the states back their power and make the federal government accountable to the states

With all that in mind, I began reading (more than just Fox, CNN and MSNBC which you should all know by now that each is horribly bias in their own way), and watching the debates.

It became clear very quickly how much no one wants you to hear about Ron Paul – that very man I teased Bryan about. Of course, that made me wonder what was so great about him that both parties hated him. And I began to study. Low and behold, he believes in many of the same things I do.

And I began noticing that many of the mass media simply refuse to acknowledge him.  Take the Ames straw poll last weekend as a great example. You will hear that Michele Bachmann placed first and Tim Pawlenty third, but then he dropped out. Mitt Romney and Jon Huntsman didn’t participate and are still considered strong candidates, although they are Mormons, and according to the mass media, no one is ready to have a Mormon in the White House. Oh and hey, Rick Perry just threw his name in and is already considered a front-runner.

Wait. Back up. We missed something. Who was No. 2?

Ron Paul, who was 200 votes – 1 percent – behind Michele Bachmann was No. 2. For some reason, the media really doesn’t want to talk about him. Neither does the Tea Party who claims to be for smaller government and less welfare. Neither does the Republican Party who claims to be on the side of the Tea Party, in most cases.

Why? As one local Republican delegate told us on air today, he is not electable and they are in the business of electing people.

What if the electable person, say Bachmann who has lately been touting Paul’s more “acceptable” polices, isn’t the “right” person for the job? I’m not saying she isn’t, but if you think Paul is the person to elect, would you instead vote for Bachmann because Republicans believe she is more electable and has a better chance of ousting Obama?

Sadly, many Republicans will say yes.

Why?

Because their agenda is not necessarily putting the right President in office, but to get the Democrat out of office. If the shoe were on the other foot, the Democrats would do the same. They vote in the “golden child” with the great hair and charisma because that is how you win an election.

When I discovered that I fell under this category of voting in the electable candidate because of the party I was registered in, I was ashamed.  I tell others all day long that they should do the right thing, even if it isn’t popular.

It was a caller who helped me see the error of my ways today. And from now on, I will vote for the right candidate, regardless of his or her ability to win. I will stand up for what I believe in, regardless of how “the party” feels about it. And then I can always say I felt like I did the right thing, not the popular thing.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 15, 2011 in In Jen's Opinion, Politics

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Is your candidate ‘electable’ or the ‘right’ candidate?

  1. redrockrunner

    August 15, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    Jen, you are gonna be a big star one day………just like in the Kenney Chesney song.

    Great article, keep it up.

     
    • Jen

      August 15, 2011 at 6:37 pm

      It’s worth the hardships along the way, right? I just want to make a difference, help a few thousand people along the way and in the meantime, try not to let the petty stuff get to me or get in the way. Maybe create a better world for my kids, and surround myself with people with good values.

       
  2. Preston Schumacher

    August 15, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    Awesome post Jen. I have been following News about Ron Paul on Infowars.com and it is a shame that the media doesn’t give him the respect he deserves. While the nation doesn’t have to agree with everything Ron Paul says and does, they must realize he is the answer to save our country from complete destruction by the Super Elite running our congress.

     
  3. ImALibertarian

    August 16, 2011 at 5:00 am

    Jen – As a newcomer to your blog, this was a good place to begin. You can tell from my moniker that I’d probably be a Ron Paul supporter, but you wouldn’t realize that as a 70 year resident of Texas that I’ve been one of his supporters since he ran for president as the Libertarian candidate.

    The only reason for that preceding history is to credibly validate a point about your conclusion to vote for the right rather than the less evil candidate.

    For years I’ve been accused of throwing my votes away because (predominately) I vote for Libertarians. I ask those accusers, “When has your vote in a statewide or national election ever created, or broken a tie?” Think about it… the only time YOUR vote matters is when an election is decided or tied by ONE VOTE.

     
  4. AAmaya

    September 14, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    I see stupid people and they all want to be my president>>> where do I cast my vote?

     

Leave a Reply

 
