RSS

Daily Worth: Quit Whining About Netflix Increase

18 Jul

I was really shocked when I received an email from Daily Worth suggesting that I “Quit Whining About the Netflix Hike.” Well that’s the beauty of the free market; not only can I whine about it, I can do something about it.

Coming from a financial expert company, I would have expected something more like: Check your increase and determine whether staying with Netflix is still saving you money or whether you are truly using the amount you are paying for.

Well, they didn’t say that but that’s exactly what I did.

I love Netflix, but mostly because I hold onto DVDs for weeks at a time before watching them. Thus, Redbox isn’t a good fit for someone like me. I have one DVD that I hold onto until I watch it, and then usually the second DVD is something my kids wanted to see. I also have the live streaming so my kids can watch shows like Wonder Pets, Little Einsteins and Johnny Test without me paying for cable.

Yep, I love Netflix. But that was a pretty steep monthly increase.

I had noticed lately that the monthly amount coming out of my bank account was higher than I thought when I originally signed up. So I did some checking.

In May 2010, I was paying $13.45. The next month it went up to $14.95 a month. Six months later it jumped to $16.02 a month. It is currently at $16.02 even though last month Netflix went down for an entire week and did not prorate my bill.

Now when I log into my account, there is a friendly notice that says in September 2011, I will be paying $19.98 – before tax.

So when Daily Worth says, quit whining it’s only an extra $5.99 a month. Well, yeah, but I’m kind of sick of it going up every six months.

I avoid monthly bills at all costs, i.e. gym memberships, tanning packages, fruit baskets, car payments etc. I’m a cheap gal since I’m a single mother of two. I workout at home using my Wii, go to the lake if I feel like tanning and next year I’ll be growing my own garden. Paying rent, utilities, car insurance, cell phone and internet each month is tough enough. Now I’m actually considering doing away with my one favorite monthly luxury.

Thanks to my very wise best friend, the decision was actually simply. I’ll be downgrading my service to only online streaming ($7.99 a month) and I’ll have to Redbox it for movies I can’t watch instantly (the real good ones don’t stream on Netflix). That means being more diligent in returning movies the next day and using the coupons Redbox sends me each month to my email.

As for Daily Worth, well I take every bit of advice with a grain of salt and apply it to my own personal situation. But I prefer the emails from Suze Orman and Dave Ramsey.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2011 in In Jen's Opinion

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Daily Worth: Quit Whining About Netflix Increase

  1. Anonymous

    July 25, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more. After evaluating my use and the price, I am downgrading my Netflix to stream only. With the money that saves, I’m adding Hulu Plus and actually saving about $2 a month over the price increase. Hulu just gained my business thanks to Netflix increasing the fee with no perceptible increase in value of content.

     
    • Jen

      July 27, 2011 at 3:04 pm

      Thanks for the suggestion. I’m going to check out Hulu

       

Leave a Reply

 
