RSS

A Pageant So Inspiring, Even ‘Militant’ Jen Almost Shed a Tear

15 May

I always believed in the Mrs. Utah United States pageant. I believe in honoring women for their roles as wives and mothers. But what I really liked was honoring them for their community services, careers, using their voice to propel their platform while still being good wives and mothers. I believe in honoring their spouses and children for supporting them in that, as well.

After months of preparation for the 2011 pageant, I think I began to lose sight of that. Preparing for something so great while switching jobs, worrying over medical things I had no choice over, and the drama and stress of certain friendships and relationships ending … well it all took its toll. But last night I remembered why we decided to do this in the first place. Last night I watched seven remarkable women do something many women are not brave enough to do. Last night, even the hardened militant Jen almost shed a tear.

I listened to these women talk about their platforms with more conviction and strength than anything I had heard in a long time. I saw their husband’s eyes fill with pride and love as these women walked across the stage to greet them. I heard the tender words these men wrote to explain the love they had for their soul mate.

By the end of the pageant, even I was moved and slightly disappointed it was over. We had worked for that day to come, and it had turned out beautifully and the women were stunning. I was happy to have the pageant, but not quite ready for it to be over.

As one of the directors, I am so grateful I didn’t have to choose the winner, because I wouldn’t have been able to. The seven contestants were all so beautiful and inspiring on their way that I was heartbroken I couldn’t name them all Mrs. Utah. I’m sure a lot of women say that because they think they should, but I’ve never been good at giving out fake compliments. These women, each one of them, were truly something special.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in Relationships & Personal Growth

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
